The UGC- Human Resource Development Centre (HRDC), formerly known as the Academic Staff College (ASC), University of Calcutta has successfully completed 28 years of its glorious existence since it was established on 08 October 1990 during the F. Y. 1990-91 in the highly esteemed Rashbehari Siksha Prangan (University College of Science & Technology Campus, Rajabazar) of the University of Calcutta, a University with Potential for Excellence (UGC-UPE) Grade-A institution of higher education in India.

The National Assessment and Accreditation Council (NAAC) has certified our Centre as one of the Performer ASCs (ranked within 5 out of 55 in 2012) in the country. So far, the UGC-HRDC, CU has effectively organized more than 550 academic programmes including Orientation Programmes, Refresher Courses, Interdisciplinary Refresher Courses, Summer/ Winter Schools, and Short Term Courses to enhance teaching, research and educational administration skills of nearly 22000 young teacher participants coming from various parts of the country; and also Interdisciplinary Programmes/ Research Methodology Courses for the research scholars, and Workshops for educational administrators of Higher Education Institutions (HEI) of West Bengal. Among the participants approximately 50 percent were women, and many of them coming from backward areas and communities.

The Centre has published more than 35 monographs and proceedings of the different academic programmes it has organized since inception. Currently the Centre is functioning as a UGC sponsored autonomous institution with competent Local Programme Planning and Management Committee (LPPMC) - the advisory committee, and academic staffs of the University of Calcutta. It has 2 class rooms, 1 independent office with computerized data management system, 1library with about 3500 books and journals along with computerized accession register, 1 man-machine interface laboratory, resource persons' lounge and rest room, and 1 guest house with all modern facilities. The University has already taken initiatives for expansion and modernization of the facilities keeping in mind the national and global standards.

Directors Since Inception

1. Prof. Nityananda Saha (Nov 1990 - Jun 1993)
2. Prof. Santosh Sarkar (Jul 1993 - Dec 1993)
3. Prof. Priyalal Majumdar (Feb 1994 - Oct 2000)
4. Prof. Binay Kanti Dutta (Nov 2000 - Jan 2006)
5. Prof. Dipes Chandra Nath (Jan 2006 -Feb 2014)
6. Prof. Bidyut Baran Konar ( Feb 2014-Mar 2015)
7. Prof. Ashutosh Ghosh (Mar 2015- May 2015)
8. Prof. Basab Chaudhuri (Jun 2015 -Aug 2015)
9. Prof. Lakshminarayan Satpati (Sep 2015 - Present)